Term 3: Sorting My Exhibition Space

Having been allocated my space, I set about gum-taping any joins, sanding down the walls, filling any holes, and painting the walls white. After leaving it to dry, I was able to begin putting up my work.

Initially, I had intended to have a diagonal ascending line of my work. However, a straight horizontal line displays more professionally for the exhibition. I also intended to just glue hooks to the backs of my mirrors, and then hang these on nails. However, the heat of a glue gun may crack the delicate mirrors. On speaking with David Fitzjohn, he suggested I could try and make the pieces look as if they were ‘floating’ by mounting the mirrors onto a wood protrusion first. However, this still left the problem of attaching the mirrors to the wood. I spoke to Alan the ‘tech man’ and he suggested using double sided foam pads. I purchased some of these, and used a tester mirror to attach it to the wall. I left this for 24 hours to check the pads would be strong enough to hold the mirrors, as I don’t want them to fall off halfway through the exhibition.

MDF ready for paintings

MDF Mounts

The Space

The Space

I used a piece of string and a spirit level to keep all the squares in line and level. However, due to the fact the walls themselves are hollow internally, the screws keeping the wood in place don’t have much to hold onto. This resulted in the wooden blocks ‘spinning’ on the axis of one screw. I intended to nail or tack the bottoms of the wooden pieces, but this didn’t work successfully as the heads weren’t flush with the wood. Instead, I used a sticky foam pad to keep them in place. I stuck five of these pads to each wooden block, and set about mounting my paintings.


Final Display

Final Display



Leave a comment