Term 3: Naming my Exhibition Work

James Green had previously asked me if I’d considered naming my work, as it can add to your overall artworks. I have been thinking about names for the collection of mirrors, as well as if I wanted to individually name each piece.

I decided that I would give each monkey a human name, and label the piece as such. Human names create connections and empathy toward an animal, by making them more relate-able and turning them into an individual rather than being objectified. This can be seen in many animal welfare advertisements like the following one by the BUAV:

I want to call the collection “Reflect”, and then label each piece individual human names such as “Dave thinks you should” so the individual piece relates to the collection title, as in; “Dave thinks you should Reflect”. This message has two meanings; one being that you should think about what goes on for laboratory animals and the things you can do to avoid helping the suffering, as well as a literal meaning – actually reflecting one’s own eyes.

UPDATE
Having spoken to tutors and discussed labels and naming for the work, it was suggested that I don’t label each individual piece as it could look messy. Instead, I have labelled my selection of oil paintings simply “Reflect” and hope the double message of both literal reflection as well as mental reflection will come across.



Leave a comment