Summative Post: Contextualisation

Collage Artists
My initial research didn’t inform my final exhibition piece directly, but at the beginning stages of developing ideas, it assisted my collage development and made me think more about techniques used to grab attention such as exaggeration and quantity used by Terry Gilliam and Peter Blake. This progressed with me throughout my subject work; thinking about techniques to gain and then retain attention.
Post #1: https://lounomeat.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/term-1-subject-collage-artists/

Patricia Piccini
The first particularly relevant artist research I conducted didn’t relate to my work in terms of medium, but it terms of how the viewer responds to the work; creating an uncomfortable and intriguing piece to look at which forces the viewer to reflect on controversial topics. In this instance; genetic modification. I wanted to try and create that kind of viewing experience.
Post #2: https://lounomeat.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/term-1-subject-the-chapman-brothers-and-contemporary-artists/

Sue Coe
I discovered Sue Coe whilst researching for my dissertation. Her grim and grisly depictions of slaughterhouses across the US aren’t too overly graphic whilst maintaining the tragic reality. Again, this is a quality I wished to adopt into my own paintings.
Post #3: https://lounomeat.wordpress.com/2015/02/06/term-2-sue-coe-dead-meat/

Dissertation Research
#4: A huge contextual input for my exhibition work is derived from the research conducted for my dissertation. As I was looking at advertising campaigns for animal rights, I discovered and analysed the successful techniques used to interest an audience. After learning these techniques, I thought that some of them, such as interactivity and empathy, could be effectively utilised within my own art work. I have tried to do this by using reflection in my paintings, so the viewer can see their own eyes, as well as empathy by naming each piece a human name to encourage comparison between animal and human in an effort to show that animals should be treated with more respect.

The Chapman Brothers
The Chapman Brothers tackle controversial topics within their artwork, as I am trying to within mine. The wide stares of the subjects in some pieces leave the viewer uneasy, and this I have tried to utilise in my own pieces with the blank mirror eyes.
Post #5: https://lounomeat.wordpress.com/2015/02/12/term-2-the-chapman-brothers/



Leave a comment