Term 1 Project: Abstract Line Skulls

Having messed around with a bit of colour in my work, I ended up returning to black and white. I wanted to see what abstract skulls I could create using simple lines and shapes.

Some quick doodling produced these pieces. Whilst the skull shape is evident, they seemed very child-like and almost happy. The soft circular shapes felt quite gentle. This isn’t what I wanted to feel; to me, the primitive is animalistic, aggressive, instictive – sharper lines and edges would perhaps reflect that in a better way.

I felt this piece was a lot more successful. Using a photo for reference, I simplified and picked out the shapes I could see within the skull. Once I had my basic drawing, I took a photo to manipulate digitally, and then added a few lines of darkness and definition.

I started experimenting with the skull using the photo I had taken of the blank angular shapes, and printing a number out with which to work. I experimented with filling in different shapes and attempting to highlight either dark or light areas using lines, varying sized circles, shades of brown, and contrasting colours. I’m also planning to print out more to experiment with, as I am beginning to think this is one of my stronger drawings and skull representations for this project and have really enjoyed experimenting with my own drawing. I am also thinking of producing some screen prints.

I will experiment more with this type of drawing; I enjoyed trying to see angular, simplified shapes in a fairly complex object. I shall try different angles, different skulls, different shapes etc.



Leave a comment